Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Books by Award

Hugo Award

Hugo Award

The Hugo Award, also known as the Science Fiction Achievement Award, is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS).

Complete Hugo Award novel listing from 1953-2022

About the Hugo Award

Hugo History

The distinguishing characteristics of the Hugo Award are that it is sponsored by WSFS, administered by the committee of the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) held that year, and determined by nominations from and a popular vote of the membership of WSFS. In general, a Hugo Award given in a particular year is for work that appeared in the previous calendar year.

The Hugo trophy is a rocket ship mounted on a base that is unique to each year's convention and reflects some aspect of the convention's location.

Selection Process

Members of past and current years' World SF Convention nominate up to five items per category. The top five items in each category are placed on a final ballot, which is voted on by current members. Final results in each category are determined via the 'Australian ballot preference system': all first-place votes are tabulated; the entry with the fewest votes is eliminated; second-place votes from eliminated ballots become first-place votes; this is repeated until a nominee achieves a majority. For second-place, the winner's votes are dropped, and second-place votes from those ballots become first-place votes, and the process is repeated.

Hugo Links











Page: of 7 Years in List: